Warning: session_start() [function.session-start]: open(/home/content/73/11824473/tmp/sess_bvanm6ke6pbfa7ktqv995pj6v5, O_RDWR) failed: No such file or directory (2) in /home/content/73/11824473/html/header.php on line 55

Warning: session_start() [function.session-start]: Cannot send session cookie - headers already sent by (output started at /home/content/73/11824473/html/header.php:55) in /home/content/73/11824473/html/header.php on line 55

Warning: session_start() [function.session-start]: Cannot send session cache limiter - headers already sent (output started at /home/content/73/11824473/html/header.php:55) in /home/content/73/11824473/html/header.php on line 55

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/content/73/11824473/html/header.php:55) in /home/content/73/11824473/html/header.php on line 64

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/content/73/11824473/html/header.php:55) in /home/content/73/11824473/html/header.php on line 65

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/content/73/11824473/html/header.php:55) in /home/content/73/11824473/html/header.php on line 66
Illusive :: RLFic.org
Reviews For Going the Distance

Reviewer: Hyacinth79 Signed Date: June 25, 2010 07:50 PM Title: Chapter 3

Awww...reminds me of those adorable "work dork" moments. I love the balance of angsty beginning and happy/cute/lighthearted ending.

My fave line is this: “I know you, Rory.  You’re, blushing, rambling, avoiding my gaze, worrying your bottom lip.  You’re nervous.  If you just wanted your stuff back you’d be in angry, defensive mode right now.” Really shows how well Logan knows Rory and how well YOU know Logan's character. :)

Reviewer: Hyacinth79 Signed Date: June 25, 2010 07:35 PM Title: Wallowing

It's a sad chapter, yet it's comical at the same time having Finn and Colin there. Paris' line: " I hope you don’t mind losing your foot to gangrene from peripheral vascular disease when you become a type II diabetic" was just too hilarious. I can almost picture her in my head saying that exact line. Lastly, I love Honor's advice at the end.

Reviewer: Hyacinth79 Signed Date: March 22, 2010 08:53 PM Title: Chapter 3

“You, Rory Gilmore, are amazing when you suck.”

Reviewer: Hyacinth79 Signed Date: March 22, 2010 08:42 PM Title: Perfect

“This is, like, the best thing I’ve ever had in my mouth.”

“And I’m offended again,” Logan pouted.

Love those lines, but the ending...not so much. Perhaps it'll get better?

Reviewer: psunyy28 Signed Date: January 18, 2010 02:25 PM Title: Chapter 3

This turned out very nicely, as I figured it would. Though I don't know if I missed something as I read the final part - it seemed vague to me about whether or not Rory does ultimately leave for the job. You had mentioned that you decided to have her stay for Logan (based on that other story), so I am going to go with that ending. :-) Katie and I will have to disagree there. This was a difficult conflict to write, especially as it is a repeat of the first time, but you met the challenge well. I am glad that I was able to enjoy the story, despite my own internal conflicts about this storyline on the show.

Author's Response:

Thanks for the review.  Actually, Rory does go.  At the end says to Logan "maybe it's not too late" to turn down the job, but it was too late ass she had signed a 1 year contract.  So Logan told her she had to go but at the end of the year, if she doesn't love it, then at least she knows she gave it her all.  I like to think that at then end of the year she's gotten it out of her system and she decides to take a job tht lets her stay close to home.

Reviewer: KatieDV Signed Date: January 17, 2010 03:20 PM Title: Chapter 3

This! So perfect!  Neither one of them was right over the other; they both apologized; they both saw where the other was coming from.  They totally rationalized their situation and made it work between them.

You really did a great job of making me feel for both of them.  Rory's situation was not enviable - I think I probably would have taken the job, too.  As much as I felt like I sided with Logan just because I wanted her to say yes, she really did have too strong a reason to go.  And they had the perfect conclusion, meeting right down in the middle.  And you're right: Rory did make things work when he had to be in London for a year, and this would be no different.

They were so cute in this chapter; so adorable.  I absolutely loved the whole thing.  I feel very lucky that you got my prompt.  Thank you so much! :)

Reviewer: KatieDV Signed Date: January 17, 2010 02:49 PM Title: Wallowing

“What do you think happened?” Logan answered, giving his friend a pointed look over the hem of the jacket that was still mostly covering his face. “She said no. She’s gone.”“Again?” Finn asked.

I'm with Finn on this one.  Again? For serious, Rory, again?!

And Paris was just made of awesome, as she usually is.  I loved how in-character that whole exchange was between Paris and Rory.

“Of course not, I don’t want to lose her, I want to get married. And as pissed as I am that she took this job without even consulting me, and as much as I wish she would have turned it down, I’d be willing to deal with it, to work through it, if she was willing to give me just that much. But she wasn’t. She said ‘no’…again. Despite everything we’d discussed, despite everything we’d planned, once she got the opportunity for her dream job, she was willing to give it all up. She walked out on me, Honor. Why should I go crawling back on my hands and knees?”


LOL, I love how medling Honor is always characterized as, but she's such a great, supportive sister.  And I was a little annoyed at her for outright assuming Logan should go out and try to get Rory back, but not because she was wrong about anything else.  And then Logan goes and says that, and now I'm TOTALLY on Logan's side, lol. (So much for asking to be impartial when I'm myself taking sides, ah?)

You've written everything with so much wit - Gilmore Wit.  So awesome!

Reviewer: KatieDV Signed Date: January 17, 2010 02:13 PM Title: Perfect

Okay, I'm back to leave you the review(s) you deserve!

“Oh God,” Rory squealed again.  “I can’t believe I’m finally going to be a foreign correspondent.”  Logan dropped his arms from around Rory’s waist and took a tentative step back.  “A what?” he asked.  “I know,” Rory’s excitement was at fever pitch and she didn’t seem to notice Logan’s sudden and complete lack of it.

The confusion in the exchange between these two right here was just perfect.  Rory's excitement coupled with Logan's slow realization was perfect for the moment.

 “And what about our dream Rory?” he asked, slipping his hand into his pocket to feel the small, velvet box.  “We’ve talked about this.  We’ve talked about how many kids we’re going to have and if we’re going to buy a house in Nassau or Westchester—hell, we’ve looked at houses.  We’ve discussed the fact that we’re going to have a fall wedding in a vineyard and honeymoon in Thailand.  It wasn’t just me this time…we decided these things.”  He’d screwed up the first time around…planning a life for them in San Francisco without talking to her about it.  He’d thought she’d appreciate the thought he’d put into their lives together, but then again, he’d been a stupid kid back then.  He knew better this time.  He knew they needed to plan their lives together together.  He knew that any life altering decisions needed to be discussed and worked into their lives only now she was the one making life altering decisions without so much as a thought towards him.  What was she thinking?  Hadn’t she learned anything from the disaster that was their break-up? 

This!  So perfect, how you reference the first proposal and how it went wrong and how this one wasn't supposed to because they had planned things together.  It was this paragraph that had me totally on Logan's side in this chapter.  I felt for the position Rory was in, but my heart was really with Logan because it really was supposed to go right for the poor guy this time.

And their fight was just perfect, because it really proved how impossible a situation they were both in.  You did an amazing job going through showing both of their points of view, and neither having more or better reason to be right than the other.  Simply perfect.

Reviewer: KatieDV Signed Date: January 10, 2010 06:38 PM Title: Chapter 3

Perfect! I'll give you the proper review on Tuesday when the internet repair guy comes and fixes my internet.

But, again, just perfect!

Reviewer: juzzy_88 Signed Date: January 10, 2010 04:24 PM Title: Wallowing

great chapter!!

Reviewer: juzzy_88 Signed Date: January 10, 2010 12:34 AM Title: Perfect

that was awesome!! i feel so sorry for logan

Reviewer: KatieDV Signed Date: January 09, 2010 10:34 PM Title: Perfect

Damnit! I have no internet at home to leave you the review you deserve! Although you deserve it a little less for leaving me hanging on until tomorrow. ;-P

I really can't tell you just how much I'm loving every single little detail in this so far. So amazing. Agh! I can't express how excited I am. Yay! Hurry up and update, woman!

Author's Response: I'm glad you're liking it so far.  I was afraid I was making it too much Rory's fault when they were both supposed to be at fault.  I know she kind of started it--but he didn't react in the best way either though.  Everyone really seams to be hating Rory so far though.  I hope they will see her perspective a bit more as the story goes on.

You must login (register) to review.

Warning: Unknown: open(/home/content/73/11824473/tmp/sess_bvanm6ke6pbfa7ktqv995pj6v5, O_RDWR) failed: No such file or directory (2) in Unknown on line 0

Warning: Unknown: Failed to write session data (files). Please verify that the current setting of session.save_path is correct () in Unknown on line 0